Review: Erzulie/Progress in Health skincare bundle!

28May12

I recently reviewed some Erzulie makeup products. If you missed that post, I can sum it up with: Concealer=awesome tier, Lipstick=good tier, mascara= Sucky.

I also purchased some skincare products from the same company at the same time. It can take a full 9 days for skin to adapt to a new routine, so I didn’t want to review the products until I’d used them for at least 2 weeks. To clear up any confusion, the company that makes these products is the same, but the makeup line is called Erzulie, after a loa of love, beauty, and creativity, and the skincare line is called Progress in Health. 
 
I purchased their starter skincare bundle, which contains  a toner, a moisturizer, a cleanser, and a eye depuffer stick. I also got a pair of tubes of an acne treatment, one for my purse and one for home.

Lactic Acid Facial Cleanser for Acne and Anti-Aging

My skin is on the drier side of combination. I’m in my mid twenties and that’s the age when wrinkles start showing up when your skin isn’t properly hydrated. I adore this cleanser, because it removes everything, but contains hydrating oils and lactic acid, so I don’t look 5 years older between moisturizer and cleanser. My skin can be sensitive to certain things, which is why I switched to natural products- my skin seems to like them better. I will definitely be buying this stuff again, it works really well! The bottle is on the small side, though, and my one complaint is that the tube this is in has a large hole, and this is a milky cleanser, so a lot more than I need comes out, and I think I will end up using it faster than I want to.

Oxygen Complexion Mist & Toner

I’m a bit nervous about this toner, because it contains peroxide. That’s okay for your skin, because it’s designed to help heal breakouts and get rid of bacteria, but I have bangs and I’m afraid of getting this stuff in my hair. It has kind of an odd smell- not bad, just… odd. I keep it in my bag to spray on my skin when I’m sweaty or after my workouts. It seems like it could have the potential to be drying if I used it every day. I’m someone who breaks out a lot in summer from sweat, so this is nice to have. 

Oxygen Facial Moisturizer Lotion

I told you before, my skin is on the dry side. It can also be sensitive to the wrong moisturizers. This stuff is good, and does seem to increase the balance of my skin, which was recently unbalanced and breaking out due to me falling asleep with a facial mask on. It’s a little less hydrating than I hoped, but still very nice. I’ve been using it in the daytime and using my other favorite moisturizer at night. 

Aromatherapy Eye Depuffer Balm SOOTHE

This stuff works, and unlike some non-natural products I’ve used, it seems to lighten and depuff genetic dark circles (or allergies, or puffiness from crying) wonderfully, but hydrate at the same time. My undereyes aren’t dried out at all. There’s a definite herbal scent to this product, but I’m kind of a fan. It smells sort of leafy and clean. This passes the “I had PMS and was crying 20 minutes ago and no one can tell” test, the “I have insomnia and got 3 hours of sleep” test, and even lightened the stubborn stuff I have all the time thanks to genetics.

These products work together well, and the breakouts I’d been having for a month from unbalancing my sensitive skin with too much of that facial mask is now back to being smooth and creamy looking. I paid $30 for the set which included the eye depuffer stick as well, and I think that’s an okay deal, although I wish the bottles were available in a bigger size. The toner will probably last forever, but the cleanser is probably only a single month’s supply and I’m not sure how long the moisturizer will last, but I’d guess around 2 months. 

I also got two tubes of

Oxygen Blemish Treatment

Which I’ve mentioned earlier. It definitely reduces redness or swelling on existing zits and seems to reduce the time to heal slightly, but I’ve noticed you can not apply it to “trouble spots” and if you use too much, it can irritate skin around blemishes, causing them to mulitply. I love the product, but that’s something to be aware of if your skin is sensitive. This product smells strongly of tea tree oil.

Overall, I’d say I’d buy most of these products again, and that I’ll definitely try out more in the future. My skin can be unpredictable, especially during hot weather, so it’s always nice to find stuff that keeps it nice. 



No Responses Yet to “Review: Erzulie/Progress in Health skincare bundle!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment